Why Hello, Lamppost?

 

Slow down, you move too fast

You got to make the morning last

Just kickin’ down the cobblestones

Lookin’ for fun and feelin’ groovy

“The 59th Street Bridge Song”; Paul Simon

 

Every April, retiring teachers in my school district get a few minutes in the spotlight at a district-wide dinner. Colleagues cheer as each retiree is called to the stage to receive a token of appreciation. During this moment of glory, a DJ/math teacher plays the retiree’s song choice while photos are displayed on the screen and a short bio is read by an administrator/ emcee. Since the retiree has submitted the information for the presentation, it’s always fun to hear the retiree’s most memorable teaching moment and retirement plans. Songs are always wildly varied, anything from “Teach the Children Well” to “School’s Out for the Summer.” One nerdy science teacher I know chose “The Theme from Star Wars” and went through the whole hand-shaking-with-the-superintendent wearing a Darth Vader mask.

When my retirement approached, I began mulling over what song I’d pick. Nothing too sappy for sure. Maybe something tongue-in-cheek? Witty? An impertinent young colleague suggested the Wicked Witch of the West music from The Wizard of Oz. Very funny… no.

One day, as I was driving home from school, I found myself singing along to “Feelin’Groovy” playing on the radio. The lines seemed just right for a life without the responsibilities of teaching:

“I got no deeds to do

No promises to keep

I’m dappled and drowsy and ready to sleep”

So, I made my choice.

 

Now, several years later, and after retiring again, this time from supervising student teachers, I’m continuing to be “Lookin’ for fun and feelin’ groovy.”

 

So, I chose Hello, Lampost for my blog’s title…. Straight out of the song that always puts a smile on my face.

 

Leave a Reply

